Minnie’s Silver Screen Dine: Dinner (Early)

Being on the quick service dining plan, we decided we only wanted to shell out money for one table service meal this past trip. After looking into various restaurants, we decided we wanted to try something new and settled on this mainly because it gave us priority seating for Fantasmic, my favorite evening time show.

This is a buffet and if you have small children, I would absolutely recommend hitting this place up for an early dinner because the amount of character time we got was insane. We sat down for our meal a bit before 4PM and all the characters came by at least four times, waving and stopping for photos if we wanted.

With not many people at the restaurant, we watched as families got all kind of time with the characters. Two young girls next to me had such a great time doting on the characters I couldn’t help but smile.

The food itself is quite good, though maybe not on the same quality level as the table service restaurants that are not self serve. I loved the little pastas and probably had more meatballs and shrimp than I needed, but it was a great opportunity to stuff my face. And since we were paying out of pocket, I believe it was very strategic of us to do the early dinner because we didn’t need as much in the morning and after stuffing ourselves silly, we didn’t need much in the evening either.

One thing food wise I really loved was the decorations on the desserts. The little ‘grammy’ statue Minnie was really cute – I think it was white chocolate so I enjoyed it too. My favorite item was the little ‘apple pie’ tasting item. I could’ve eaten quite a few of those had I not already eaten so much. Alec loved the little chocolate peanut butter ball, but I was not as much of a fan because of the texture.

Overall, it was a great restaurant and I loved all the character time we got. My only complaint is that Mickey still seemed to be the star of Minnie’s show because he was the one standing at the entrance where a cast member took PhotoPass photos. I guess I can understand why, as more people seem to want Mickey pictures than Minnie pictures, but I still was not a big fan of that aspect.

As for personal rankings, I would say Minnie’s Silver Screen Dine is:

Atmosphere: 10 – Food: 8 -Price: 7

This was by far the most character time I have gotten at a table service and for that I had a really great time. The food itself was very good, I only wish I had saved more room for the wonderful desserts. Lastly, as this is Disney and nothing comes without a decent price, this place was about in the middle when it comes to table service, but it is definitely a bit hard to swallow when paying out of pocket and seeing the dollar signs versus as credit on your dining plan.

I will absolutely be returning to Minnie’s Silver Screen Dine at Hollywood & Vine in the future. I am excited to take my future children here simply because I see them having a truly magical experience meeting and getting special moments with the characters, which is reason enough to go again and again!

 

Leave a Reply

