Movies: Moana

I know I’m a little late to the party considering Moana was released on Digital HD this past Monday and will ultimately be available to all in the near future, but I just had the pleasure of watching this movie last Friday wit Alec.

I was definitely not disappointed. If you haven’t already, I would highly recommend watching this movie when you find the time. The plot line is well thought out and I love that Moana is so strong minded and determined, something many people can relate to and look up to.

After the movie, I actually went to the trouble of looking up some facts and various information on how the plot came into focus. At one point, the movie was looking to focus completely on Maui but I am so thankful they instead opted to give a powerful role to Moana instead.

My only (albeit minor) disappointment is that I saw Pua (Moana’s pig friend) all over the advertising and thought he would have a larger role (yes, a pig should have had a stronger role). For all the cover art with Pua, I figured he’d be around for more than just a couple minutes of screen time.

However, I think it’s a really great ‘coming of age’ movie that really stresses finding yourself and being who you are, even if it is difficult sometimes. Who doesn’t like watching a movie that focuses on being yourself?

I liked this movie so much that I immediately wanted to watch it again (though Alec drew a line there), so I instead bought the soundtrack and have been listening to it nonstop. I also bought a Heihei tsum tsum plush that Alec stole to display on his dashboard. Needless to say, I’m completely enamored with the movie and you should be too!

Leave a Reply

