Akershus Royal Banquet Hall: Dinner

One of the most surprising places that I absolutely loved was the Akershus Royal Banquet Hall. I am not exactly sure what I was expecting, but this lovely place definitely exceeded all expectations. Of course, it’s hard for me not to love a place where I get a picture with Belle right off the bat. And if that wasn’t great enough, we also got to meet many other princesses including Aurora, Snow White, and Ariel. The only thing that I found to be a bummer was that Anna and Elsa were not able to join the fun.

The food was awesome. My fiance and I were under the impression that Akershus was only a buffet, but were pleasantly surprised to see the buffet portion was only an appetizer. Once I was done stuffing myself with smoked salmon, shrimp, and Norwegian cheeses, I barely had room for an entree!

My mom and brother ordered the Tradisjonell Kjøttkake, my fiance enjoyed the Skalldyrsgryte, and I tried the Kyllingbryst. See the descriptions below taken from Disney’s website.

 

Tradisjonell Kjøttkake

Norwegian Meatballs served with Mashed Potatoes, Seasonal Vegetables, and Lingonberry Sauce

Skalldyrsgryte

Scallops, Mussels, and Shrimp Casserole baked in a Seafood and Herb-Cream Sauce

Kyllingbryst

Slow-roasted Chicken Breast, Applewood-smoked Bacon, Roasted Garden Vegetables, and Red Pepper Purée

After nibbling on all three, I would have to say my favorite was the meatballs hands down. The chicken was good but a little dry (as well as not a full meal if not paired with the buffet). The seafood dish was a tad too fishy for me so I was glad I did not order it for myself.

Another great aspect of this restaurant is that it is the best value table service location of 2016 according to wdwprepschool.com, which is part of the reason we decided to dine here. That and character dining, of course!

My ranking is as follows:

Character Dining: 10 – Appetizer (Buffet): 10 – Entree: 7

This averages out to be a 9/10 on the ‘Belle’ scale of dining. I adored the princesses and the buffet, but the entrees (apart from the meatballs) did not impress.

2 thoughts on “Akershus Royal Banquet Hall: Dinner

  1. thanks for your article. I was looking for a place for some grandparent friends of ours to take their granddaughter to meet princesses on their next trip. They hate waiting in long lines. This looks perfect!

    Like

Leave a Reply

